Systems Archive 4

[ Read Responses | Return to the Index ]
[ Previous | Previous in Thread | Next in Thread | Next ]


Re: Need Clarification on Variations

Posted by Leroy Nimka on 17 July 2001, at 8:01 p.m., in response to Need Clarification on Variations, posted by New Counter on 17 July 2001, at 7:16 p.m.

New Counter wrote:

"If I have a 13 up against a dealer 2 and the TC is > or equal to 0 am I really supposed to draw?"

No. If the true count is less than zero you should hit, otherwise stand (assuming that you're applying the correct index numbers for the game you're playing and the count you're using).

"Similarly if I have a 12 against a dealer 4 and the TC is > or equal to 0 am I supposed to draw as instructed?"

Again, if the true count is less than zero you should hit, otherwise stand.

"When the count is equal or greater to 0 and I have a 16 do I still draw against an Ace or anything less than a 10?"

Unless surrender is allowed, yes. At zero or higher you would stand on 16 vs. 10, just like 12 vs. 4, but a much higher true count is required to justify standing on 16 vs. 9 or 16 vs. ace.

"If I have a 10 or 11 is there a circumstance where I shouldn't double -- i.e. a certain negative TC?"

Perhaps, but those plays are generally not worth memorizing. The plays that are generally worth memorizing are the index numbers for doubling eleven vs. ace, ten vs. ten, and ten vs. ace.

Leroy Nimka


Responses


Password:


The Systems Archive 4 is maintained with WebBBS 2.24.060398.